Day of rest?! What’s that!

Today might be classed as the day of rest, but there is certainly no rest for this little monster! I’ve had my head firmly in my laptop and iPad – I’m a multi tasking machine – for the last week or so and I’ll be honest, my brain is struggling to cope haha it tries it’s best, but now it’s begging for something else to do. So I’m treating it to a book….as long as it blogs nicely for me here 😉

My current read is Beauty by Louise Mensch (previously writing as Bagshawe). I am such a huge fan of hers and the fact that she seems so lovely whenever you tweet her or anything, just makes it even better. I’m about 45% through but will do a little write up and review for you on here when I’ve done. I will tell you now though, it’s bloody brilliant so far!

Of course, my brain has mainly spit it’s dummy out because I’ve been trying so hard to nail the marketing side of The Story of Us. This is not an easy task. God’s honest truth, yesterday I was Facebooking on my laptop, tweeting on my iPad and replying to emails on my phone. It. Was. Crazy. So being back on WordPress in a way is quite nice because it means I’m writing again without being restricted to 140 characters!

Anyway, yesterday, I promised to tell you a little bit more about my characters. There’s so much I want to tell you that I truly don’t know where to start….so how about I start at the logical place? How about I start with the lovely Alexandra, Lexi for short. Sunday names can be so awkward can’t they.

Lexi Jones is a fiery little redhead that grew up in Leeds, Yorkshire. She has an adorable little kitty called Mr Beefy and works exceptionally hard in advertising – too hard really, think 9 to 5 by Dolly Parton. She lives with Walker Harrison, a bit of an arse if we’re being completely honest here, but he does have certain qualities…..if you look hard. I thought a lot about my main character as I was developing her. I like to get an image in my head and then mould her from there and although Lexi was a little harder to pin down image-wise, I did finally manage it. The thing I love about her is that, she’s just like most of us girls. Sometimes we do lose sight of the things that are important to us, and it’s only when something forces our hand that we wake up and decide to make a change. I speak from experience here too. It’s so easy to keep plodding along with a job, or a relationship, because you get comfortable and change is scary, but when your hand is forced and you do finally walk away (for me it was a  job) you slowly realise that it was the best thing you could have ever done.

Anyway, I thought I’d share a little snippet with you all on here. I have a few favourite parts but there are some that I can’t share with you at the moment, they would be pretty big spoilers 😉

 “I can’t think of any words that would do it justice, and yes before you say anything I know that I’m the one in advertising and I should be able to think of words at the snap of my fingers but -” I’m just about to get very deep with Ryan – ahem – when I feel something thud against my leg. I see the horror and glee in Ryan’s eyes as I slowly look down. The dog from earlier on is having its way with my leg and I’m frozen in disgust. My brain is screaming at me to shake it the hell off but I just. Can. Not. Move. – Lexi

If you want to join the madness over on Facebook, here I am: Ellen Faith – Author.

I hope you’ve all had a brilliant weekend and I’ll see you very soon.

Mucho love,

Ellen

xoxo

Leave a Reply

