Happy Galentines Day

Today’s post is all about celebrating the relationships with our girlfriends. The friends that are there for us through thick and thin, the ups and the downs, the ugly crying and the celebratory nights out. I think this is a fabulous idea and wonder why Hallmark haven’t snapped up this idea, after all, they jumped on the Grandparents Day didn’t they?!

For those of you that don’t know, Galentines Day is celebrated the day before Valentines Day and it’s a day to get together with your girlfriends, leave the men and cats at home and just share the love. Cards, gifts, Margaritas, the choice is all yours.

So today, I’m handing over the reigns, again, to the lovely Lexi. She enjoyed it that much on Monday that I just thought what the hell and this time, she’s managed to convince her BFF, Rosie to join in the festivities…..

Hello again my lovelies! Oh, Happy Galentines Day too, I hope you’re all going to be showing your friends just how much you appreciate them. I’m spending tonight with my best friend Rosie. She’s never really been huge fan on the whole Galentines Day so this last week or so was spent working on getting her to change her mind. I mean, it’s basically an excuse to have a girls night out/in, eat lots and have a few drinks, and maybe a present or two if you’re lucky. I thought long and hard about what to get her for such an occasion. I hand made her card which I’m pretty impressed with, even if I say so myself. Picasso would be proud. And very probably a small child. It’s quite red and glittery….I may have had an accident with a tub of glitter and a pot of glue but shhhhh. So for her present, I got her a gorgeous Diptyque candle because I know how she loves a good bubble bath with a scented candle after a mad day at work, and I also supplied the chocolate that was supposed to go with our movie – Rosie was on meal and cocktail duty, hopefully in that order.

That was how I’d planned our very adult, sophisticated Galentines night in anyway……when I arrived at Rosie’s however, I learnt that she had other plans.

As I opened the front door, I was greeted by a very hyperactive Rosie wearing shocking pink leggings and an oversized black t shirt with her hair in pigtails. This was our usual outfit of choice when we were about 8 years old. I laughed, and cringed, and then saw that she had Saved by the Bell on the television. We were obsessed with Zac (who wasn’t) and both swore we were going to be that cool when we reached high school, because at the time, we thought they were the shizz. Cringe.

The house looked like a 90’s throwback and I couldn’t believe that Rosie had gone to so much effort, the girl that had grumbled her way through several Pina Coladas last year as I tried to reminisce over the years gone by. She screwed her nose up and complained that I’d made her miss a new episode of The Simpsons, which apparently made me a bad friend. I was so close to pushing her drunk ass off of the bar stool, but I didn’t, because I am a good friend. So as I sat down, she explained to me that this year, she was going to show me how Galentines Day should be done. And she did.

I was the planner of the group growing up, I had to organise the four of us to within an inch of our lives, but this Rosie was on a mission to take me back in time through our friendship, all 27 years of it. I cried like a baby, she hit me. I hit her back. Then poured us some alcopops – because we had to add some sophistication to the evening, I insisted on glasses.

RTDs-The-Fight-for-Fridge-Space_dnm_large

Rosie had been very creative this year with her gifts which impressed me a great deal. She had made me a memory book, a playlist of our lives and bought me a dvd of Fiddler on the Roof, our favourite musical. And an Alexander McQueen scarf ‘just in case I thought the other gifts were shit’. She rocked my world. I think we all know who the man in our friendship is here don’t we folks. Now, obviously I can’t share some things with you on here, some of the photos should never see the light of day, but I can share with you the playlist of our lives! And the collage she made of our old crushes! Please don’t judge me, The Hoff really did make me swoon – still does to be fair.

*WARNING – EXTREME CHEESE ALERT* 

photo (6)

Aren’t they adorable?!

And the music, oh the music. Music has always been a pretty big part of our lives, we love us some old school classics to get the party started. The party that currently has me being forced into a pair of electric blue leggings while fighting against the hair crimpers that are coming my way. Meeep.

Rosie’s Playlist

Ooh Aah Just a Little Bit – Gina G

Wannabe – Spice Girls

One and Only – Chesney Hawkes

Girls Just Wanna Have Fun – Cyndi Lauper

Dirrty -Christina Aguilera

Paradise by the Dashboard Light – Meatloaf

(I’ve Had) The Time Of My Life – Bill Medley

9 to 5 – Dolly Parton

Saturday Night – Whigfield

I feel a mix tape of my own coming on this weekend, what do you think ladies? You can’t beat dancing around with a drink in your hand with your best friends reliving all the good times. And this is why I will continue to celebrate Galentines Day!

I hope wherever you are, you’re all enjoying your evening. Now I’m going to go and get my Dirrty on 😉

Lexi xxxxxxx

happy-galentines-day

Leave a Reply

