A Constant State of Wanderlust

Wanderlust: – a strong desire for or impulse to wander or travel and explore the world.

Since my post a couple of weeks ago about travel and how it inspires me, I’ve been thinking about my bucketlist. I’ve had a bucketlist for a few years now and have actually managed to tick a few things off. Things like publish a book, go to the ballet, get married, but there are so many things I have yet to tick off and most of them are travel related.

When I was younger, my mum told me about something my great granddad had once said to her, which was ‘travel is the best form of education’, and he was right. My geography skills are lacking, which is quite embarrassing for someone that’s about to turn 29, but I’m quite open about it. It doesn’t matter how many times people correct me, I always seem to think that Denmark is in Sweden, so for me, it probably would be the best form of education! I am happily settled, don’t get me wrong, but I can’t help but feel that there is so much more to life than the daily grind of eat, sleep, work, repeat.

It terrifies me to think that one day I’ll wake up, old, frail and unable to go on adventures anymore and just WISH I’d done all the things I’d wanted to do when I was able. Grim, right? Sorry, this was meant to be a happy post haha but before I think about really settling down, having children and all the responsibilities that come with them, I want to travel. I want to travel more than anything.

So my dear readers, I’ve decided to take the travel elements (and travel related elements) from my bucket list and share with you what I am now calling My Pretty Adventurous Wanderlust List (including the things I’ve ticked off).

  1. Visit all 50 States in America
  2. Experience the Mardi Gras in New Orleans
  3. Do the Pacific Coast Highway/Route 1 (This will be happening next year!)
  4. Rollerblade down Venice Beach
  5. Visit Umbrella Street in Portugal
  6. Go to Paris
  7. Go to Bora Bora
  8. Visit the sea pigs in the Bahamas
  9. Take a cruise through the Panama Canal
  10. Go to Salzburg in winter
  11. Experience Winter in Venice in Las Vegas
  12. Visit the National Library in Vienna
  13. Go to Miami
  14. Visit the mineral baths in Saturnia, Tuscany
  15. See the Cherry Blossom trees in Japan
  16. Visit Amsterdam
  17. See the lavender and sunflower fields in Provence, France
  18. Have a picnic on a beach in the Hamptons
  19. Visit Cinque Terre
  20. See the Leaning Tower of Pisa
  21. Go to the glow worm caves in New Zealand
  22. Go to Tuscany and do wine tasting
  23. Go to Rome
  24. Visit Laguna Salada de Torrevieja in Spain to see the pink sea
  25. See the Neuscwanstein Castle in Munich that the Disney Castle is based on
  26. Go to Singapore
  27. See the Wisteria Flower Tunnel in Japan
  28. See the Northern Lights
  29. Visit Pompeii
  30. See the Niagara Falls
  31. Go to the Maldives
  32. Stay in the Atlantis in the Bahamas
  33. Go to Dubai
  34. Stay on a ranch in Texas
  35. Visit Santorini
  36. See the Grand Canyon
  37. Go to Alaska
  38. Go to Toronto
  39. Visit New England in Autumn
  40. Go to Hawaii
  41. See a Buddhist Temple in Thailand
  42. Go to Lapland
  43. Go to Hong Kong
  44. Eat waffles in Belgium
  45. Go to New York
  46. See a Broadway show
  47. See the New Year in in Edinburgh
  48. Go to the Isle of Wight Festival
  49. Go Glamping
  50. See the colourful beach huts in Brighton
  51. Go to Choccywoccydoodah in Brighton
  52. Go to Cornwall
  53. Do the Florida Keys
  54. See 7 wonders of the world (I thought I’d mix n match modern and ancient here)
  55. See the ruins in Athens
  56. Stay in an igloo pod in Iceland
  57. See Bubblegum Alley in San Luis Obispo, California
  58. Visit Auschwitz, Poland
  59. Climb Sydney Harbour Bridge, Australia
  60. Visit Vatican City
  61. Visit Yosemite National Park
  62. Go to Lake Louise, Canada
  63. Go dog sledding in Alaska

PicMonkey Collage

I’m certain there are things I’ve missed here and I’m sure my list will continue to grow as quickly as I cross things off. What do you think, have I missed anything you think I should see? Let me know in the comments 🙂

Sigh. I’m off to Pinterest now to plan more travel 😉

signature

Leave a Reply

