The Lonely Hearts Travel Club – Destination Thailand by Katy Colins

thailand

What’s it all about:

What if you had a second chance… to find yourself?

Instead of slipping on her something borrowed and tripping up the aisle to wedded bliss, Georgia spends her big day crying into a warm Sex-on-the-Beach, wondering where it all went wrong.

Forced to make a bucket list of her new life goals by best friend Marie, it’s not long before travel-virgin Georgia’s packing her bags for a long-haul adventure to Thailand.

Yet, Georgia’s big adventure doesn’t seem to be going to plan. From strange sights, smells and falling for every rookie traveller scam in the book Georgia has never felt more alone.

But the good thing about falling apart is that you can put yourself back together any way you please. And new Georgia might just be someone she can finally be proud of…

Review

Book provided by Carina UK in exchange for an honest review

Katy’s debut novel caught my eye on Twitter when her cover was revealed (and what a beautiful cover, no? <3) and after reading the blurb, I just had to read it. Like, now. Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a huge sucker for a list – I genuinely struggle to function without one – but when that list is a bucket list, a TRAVEL bucket list, I can barely contain myself.

Destination Thailand follows jilted bride, Georgia, as she struggles with the aftermath of her fiance dumping her weeks before their wedding for another woman. Her best friend, Marie, takes her away on a holiday to Turkey so that on the day she was supposed to say her I do’s she isn’t hiding away from the world saying I can’t. It’s on this holiday that Marie convinces Georgia to create a bucket list, something that will help her get back to her old self again. To travel and do the old cliche and ‘find herself’.

After some serious deliberating, Georgia finally books a 6 week backpacking tour of Thailand as part of a group and this is where the fun begins.

Now I just want to say that Thailand is high up on my travel bucket list so to read a book written by someone that has genuinely travelled to the places she is writing about was a huge plus for me. Especially Bangkok, a place that both fascinates and terrifies me at the same time! I may or may not have stalked Katy’s blog to drool at her photographs too. Just saying.

Poor Georgia has some amusing and yet truly horrifying experiences when she arrives in Bangkok to meet her fellow backpackers and it doesn’t get much better for her until she decides enough is enough and heads off to do her own thing. I loved the fact that Georgia finally plucked up the courage to go it alone and for me, that’s when I really began to get lost in a dreamy haze, googling pictures of Koh Lanta and imagining myself in Georgia’s shoes. She meets some very interesting characters along the way but the guys in Koh Lanta were my favourite, especially Ben. The only downside for me was that it seemed to end a bit quickly.

If you’re looking for an escape from the cold, winter nights, the drudgery of day to day life and love to read about exotic locations then Katy Colin’s debut novel is the book for you.

4 STARS

Pre order on Amazon UK / US

Follow Katy on Twitter

Read Katy’s blog

signature

Leave a Reply

